Deactivating an account is the best option if you’re taking a break from Instagram or want a break from all social media. This will keep all of your photos up on Instagram but hide them and make it so that nobody can search for them again without knowing their direct URL link. In this article we’ll see how to deactivate an instagram account. If you decide to fully delete your account instead, then you’ll have to go through several different steps and not all of your photos will remain on the service. Temporarily deactivating your account is much quicker, but permanent deletion is the only way to go if you plan on never using Instagram again.
How To Deactivate An Instagram Account ?
1) Open your Instagram app. If you haven’t already, then log in to your account.
2) If you’re logging in for the first time, then tap on your profile photo and let the app do its thing.
3) If you’ve already logged in, then tap again on your profile photo and click on it.
4) Select the profile option and then click on edit profile.
5) You’ll be shown your profile information and settings, so scroll down to the bottom of your settings and tap on deactivate my account.
6) You’ll see a message now that says “Deactivating will remove all of your posts, follower’s list and it will shadow your profile so that it can’t be found by search.” Tap on deactivate to go through with the process.
Once you do this, all of your Instagram activity will stop but everything that you’ve posted in the past will remain on the service. If you decide to return at some point in the future then you can edit your account settings again, click on reactivate my account and then log back in.
How To Delete An Instagram Account Permanently ?
If you want to completely remove your Instagram account then you’ll have to go through several different steps, just like with deactivating your account. The difference is that after going through the steps you won’t be able to come back and reactivate the account again. Be sure that this is actually what you want to do before proceeding.
1) Open up your Instagram app and log in. Then tap on your profile picture and click on the button that says edit profile at the bottom of the screen. This will open up your profile information, so tap on settings at the bottom of this screen now.
2) Tap on delete your account, which will lead you to a screen that is asking you if the question is something that you want to be able to answer. If it is, then tap on yes and then tap ok at the bottom of the screen.
3) Your account will now be deleted and all of your photos will also be removed as well. You won’t be able to reactivate the account anymore, but everything else about it will remain on Instagram.
4) Tap back at the bottom of your settings and hit ok again to move on to step 5 below.
5) You’ll be taken back to your profile information, so tap on done at the bottom of the screen.
Now your account will be deleted and all of your photos will be removed as well. You won’t be able to reactivate the account anymore and all of your data will be gone, but everything else about it will remain on Instagram if others try to look for it.
6) You’ll be taken to the settings screen again, so tap on done at the bottom of the screen. Your account will be now permanently deleted, but this also means that your data will be permanently removed from Instagram as well.
This is supposed to permanently delete everything that you’ve posted in the past and it does mean that you won’t be able to use Instagram ever again. However, if you decide that you want to come back and use the service later on then all of your photos will still remain on the service and then you can go ahead and log back in with a new account and everything should work fine from there.